NaNoWriMo 2016 and Treasured Memories

Standard

Hi guys! Welcome back to my blog! It feels like its been years!
This year, I decided to parcipate in NaNoWriMo. If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, I’ll tell you. NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. It challenges writers to write a 50,000 words book throughout the month of November. The daily word count for every day is 1,667 words. If you stick to writing that many words everyday, you are garunteed to reach the 50,000 words at the end of the month.

So the month will be coming to an end in 5 days and I’m actually on track. I’ll insert a picture of my graph so far.

Yesterday, I hit 40,000 words and it felt so good. As, you can see, my graph is pretty weird. Some days, I just did not want to write and that is why it looks the way it looks. I started off the month really bad but I eventually caught up. Then, there were two days that I didn’t even want to write at all and it literally took me a week to catch up. Now, I am actually on track and I plan to keep it that way for the rest of the month.
So, on to the book that I am writing…

The book that I am writing is called Treasured Memories for now. I don’t know if  will change it or keep it. So, the main character’s name is Avery. She began her summer on the wrong foot when she was told that she has a brain tumor in the temporal lobe of her brain. If you didn’t know, the temporal lobe(according to the internet) is in charge of memory and other senses like hearing, sight, and speech. She is distraight that there might be a chance that she could lose most of her memory, so she begins a routine to journal all of her memories before her epic surgery. She must confront all of her emotions when it comes to her good and bad memories. Throughout the book, you’ll probaby laugh at her, pity her, or even cry with her. 

I decided to use some of my own memories. Some will be completely made up though. I really like this idea for this book because it isn’t the normal teen fiction/ya book that you read on Wattpad. I don’t want to make it cliche with all of the bad boys, love triangles, or a character with a horrible life in genral. Just because she has bad memories, that doesn’t mean that the book will be sad or full of sorrow. There are many memories within the book that will make you happy, and that’s exactly what I’m going for.

Cover for the book

Here is the cover that I came up with. I have been really into the minamalist book covers and  really like how this one came out. 

If you would like to read my book, the official release date for Wattpad will be coming soon. I hope that you guys will be amped to read it and wish me luck for the rest of NaNoWriMo.

~midnight_misfit~

Leave a Reply

